top of page

Don't be fooled - Fashion Week Australia was NOT a celebration of diversity


 

Yes, I am back once again to criticise a major fashion event on its lack of diversity (see last post re. Met Gala) and yes, maybe I am somewhat repeating myself. But look, that's not my fault. If the damn industry would actually pay attention, I wouldn't have to write so many of these now would I?



We Are Kindred models at MBFWA 2019. Source: @wearekindred

Not a trick question. The answer is no, I wouldn't. But instead, here we are, a couple of weeks later and the message remains the same. The fashion industry has a HUGE representation problem. Though we knew this, right? Right. But there have been whispers of change, of a new era, and, for a moment, I was almost gullible enough to believe them. That was until Mercedes Benz Fashion Week Australia (MBFWA) landed in Sydney this week and, well, it was bleak.


At first I was excited because I was seeing some signs of diversity celebrated in my social media feeds. Aussie Swimwear brand Aqua Blu had La'Tecia Thomas walk and she almost broke the internet. I was certain I would find more examples! Eagerly, I trolled through the photos looking for more of this magic, but to my dismay, I found almost nothing.


La'Tecia Thoman walks for Aqua Blu. Source: @lateciat

Don't believe me? I went back through the entire collection showcased on the catwalks from every label that presented (yes, it took a long time and no, I didn't have better things to do) and I rated them on a scale from 0-5 (0 being abysmal, 5 being high-fives all round). Also, just to clarify, having one "plus-sized model" (e.g. Robyn Lawley and her 6"2' goddess stature) and a few models of colour does not make you diverse when the remainder of the show is overwhelmingly filled with white, very noticeably thin women. (Note: I am not bashing thin white models. I was one).


So, let's get to it shall we? Below are the ratings for the brands presenting at MBFWA 2019 in Sydney.


AJE = 1

Anna Quan = 1.5

Aqua Blue= 3

Azzo = 1

Bassike = 1

Bec & Bridge = 1

Bondi Born = 1

Carla Zampatti = 1

Christopher Esber = 1

Double Rainbouu = 1.5

Hansel & Gretel = 2

Holiday by Emma Mulholland = 1

Innovater Showcase = 1.5

Jonathon Simkhai = 1

Justin Cassin = 1

Karla Spetic = 1.5

Lee Mathews = 1

Leo & Lin = 1

Mariam Seddiq = 1.5

Marni = 1

Mattaeu = 2.5

Michael Lo Sordo = 1

P.E Nation = 2

Pared Eye = 1

Ten Pieces = 1

Tigerlily = 1

We Are Kindred = 1


Robyn Lawley walks for Aqua Blu. Source @aquabluaustralia

...I told you. Bleak. And why? Can women over a size 6 not be fashionable? Can they not want to dress in beautiful designer clothing? Do they not have a right to do so? Cause that's the projection coming off these runways at the moment, and in most moments before this. Granted, the US does a bit of a better job, but Australia is significantly lacking. This is one of the country's largest fashion events, if not the largest, and it has let us all down.


I'm lucky. I can look at the items of clothing presented in these shows and know that should my heart so desire, I could walk into the store and pick one off the rack, knowing comfortably they cater to my size. However, given the average size for an Australian woman is a 14-16, many do not have this luxury.


So to our Aussie brands- stop discriminating against bodies who don't fit into a size 12 or smaller. Stop ignoring the majority of your target market (women). It's rude, it's offensive, and the world is starting to take notice. It's time you did, too.

bottom of page